Thursday, July 16, 2009

Women Programmers To Get Recognition

The "MIW" Group just announced the nomination process is open for the first annual MIW Achievement in Programming Award.

The winner will be recognized during the Group PD Super Session on Thursday, September 24th from 10:30-11:45am at the 2009 NAB Fall Radio Show in Philadelphia, PA.

The MIW Achievement in Programming Award is designed to encourage the advancement of women in programming and to reward and recognize those who have achieved success in the field.

Criteria for Nomination:
1. Women who are at the Program Director level or higher (for example, Regional Program Director, Vice President of Programming) will be considered.
2. Candidates must be currently active in the field, and primarily responsible for programming a radio station, group, or individual or group of programs.
3. Candidates should have at least five years' experience in programming.
4. Candidates or those nominating candidates for the award must complete and submit the entry form available at

Anyone who would like to submit a recommendation of a potential candidate is encouraged to do so. All entries must be submitted to by ­Friday, August 7th, 2009.

All submissions meeting the qualifying criteria will be reviewed and the winner will be determined by the Executive Committee of the MIW Radio Group. The decision of the judges will be final.

Special thanks to MIWs Corinne Baldassano, Denise Oliver and Ruth Presslaff for all of their hard work in making the award possible and also to MIW Susan Platt and the NAB for allowing the group to unveil the award at the 2009 NAB Fall Radio Show.

No comments: